What states do not charge sales tax?

When you live in 45 of the 50 states of the United States, you should expect to pay some sort of sales tax upon every transaction you make, whether it is made within the store or online. Depending on which of the 45 sales tax state you live in, the rate will be different. California sales tax is much higher than rates in Missouri or Iowa. Certain metropolitan areas such as New York City, Los Angeles, Dallas, etc. also place a local sales tax to be tacked onto the state sales tax. There are in fact 5 states that currently do not possess a state-wide sales tax rate to charge consumers on their purchases. Those states are Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon. All of which are completely tax free in terms of sales taxation, but that doesn't necessarily mean it is better to purchase items those states. Items could simply have a slightly higher price to substitute the non-existent sales tax.

Related Tax Questions